This project will be led by Australian leaders in infectious diseases (CI Turnidge and Slavin), intensive care (CI Peake and Lipman), transplantation (CI Hopkins) and pharmacy (CI Roberts) who each have prominent positions in professional societies and/or advisory roles on national guideline committees (e.g. Therapeutic Guidelines: Antimicrobial – CI Turnidge and Roberts).

The NHMRC-prescribed development process for guideline development will be followed including the formation of a guideline development committee.

We will use our extensive collaborations with bodies such as the International Society of Heart and Lung Transplant (CI Hopkins, AI Chambers), European Society of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (CI Roberts, CI Turnidge, AI Rello) and the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (CI De Waele, CI Roberts) to ensure global promotion of the new knowledge from this research.


Project members

Professor Monica Slavin

Immunocompromised Host Research and Translation Lead
NHMRC Leadership Fellow and Infectious Diseases Physician
Royal Melbourne Hospital
National Centre of Research Excellence Infections in Cancer

Associate Professor Sandra Peake

Dissemination Strategy Co-Lead
ICU Physician and Chair of ANSICS-CTG Committee

Professor Jeffrey Lipman

Critical Care Research, Translation and Training Lead
Emeritus Professor
UQ Centre for Clinical Research
Jason Roberts

Professor Jason Roberts

Acting Director
UQ Centre for Clinical Research
NHMRC Leadership Fellow
The University of Queensland
Pharmacist Consultant
Royal Brisbane & Women’s Hospital